Book Reports, Diane Mulligan

DVMulligan

The Art of Fiction by John Gardner

1. John Gardner is very smart and talented, but also extremely condescending and pompous. As such, I often found myself sort of chuckling reading this book, as he called certain types of would-be writings insulting names, but when I look past the tone, I know there's good advice here. Gardner's emphasis on the importance of reading and engaging in deep, meaningful exploration and study of writing craft is well taken, but I do feel this book is for undergrads and as such was basic for me. I've been teaching English for 16 years. For me, the book had good reminders but no new information.

2. Gardner's advice about clarity and the need to make characters and settings vivid and fully realized for the reader is a nice reminder, as is his repeated insistence on never forgetting the audience, and thereby avoiding falling into self-indulgent prose. I also think it's nice that he specifies that he's not really writing to advice those who write genre fiction, although I don't see why he had to call such writing junk. Some of us enjoy genre fiction, and literary fiction isn't always fun to read. I also particularly liked this quote: "No fiction can have real interest if the central character is not an agent struggling for his or her own goals but a victim, subject to the will of others. (Failure to recognize that the central character must act, not simply be acted upon, is the single most common mistake in the fiction of beginners.)"

3. I think Gardner would not approve of the emphasis in this class on commercially viable stories. The fact is he's a literary snob and quite often literary fiction is not commercially successful.

Writing the Breakout Novel by Donald Maass